Home > Uncategorized > She Changes

She Changes


She changes

The color of her hair

As often as her underwear

That’s no longer there

 

That’s a steel guitar song

For another time

The Ohio River to Kentucky belongs

Like gin and tonic with a lime

 

My baby is in my bed

She belongs to another

The steel guitar moans in my head

While she’s under the cover

 

She changes

The sheets on my bed

As often as I

Wish I was dead

 

Nobody told me

The cost of the freight

Nobody told me

How long I would wait

 

She changes

She’s different each time

She changes as often

As she changes her mind

 

Are you ready for the solo?

It won’t take long

But friend I’m afraid

It’s the end of the song

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 5, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    Just left a quick ‘like’ above and for the first time noticed all the sub-divisions of this site. I have a LOT of reading to do (even the stories I’ve already seen earlier versions of.) I will return when I’m not supposed to be working. And meanwhile, of course, I will be analyzing the poem . . .

    • August 5, 2014 at 11:55 pm

      You know I don’t do poetry but a musician friend asked if I would coin some song lyrics. I wrote songs when I was at OSU in a blues band but the point of the music then was to pursue pussy. Wait! Did I say that out loud? Anyway, Moon on Her Shoulder is about having sex on a gravestone. If you read it and are interested. She Changes is about an extramarital affair gone wrong.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

