Home > Uncategorized > The House

The House


A very short story that I wrote for a woman I once loved.

The House

At the corner of Terror and Desire is a house. It’s a small house but well appointed with shades that let in a precise and correct amount of light. And a porch relaxed from years of relaxing. The morning glory clings to trestles, smelling sweetly. Dew on lush purple petals. The door is open and welcoming. Music pours forth, bathing flower beds. The gentle embrace of a hedge.

 

The small house has known many inhabitants and all have loved her.

 

He passes, wandering, but is lost before his love drives him back in search. It will take many lifetimes for him to find her again. But when he does he will enter her and live forever.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 19, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    I am not sure why I immediately thought about Cobain’s lyrics in “Heart Shaped Box” after reading this.. Your words are not as gravid on the surface, yet they leave behind the same sense of endless obsession.

    “She eyes me like a Pisces when I am weak
    I’ve been locked inside your heart-shaped box for weeks
    I’ve been drawn into your magnet tar pit trap
    I wish I could eat your cancer when you turn black

    ***
    Meat-eating orchids forgive no one just yet
    Cut myself on angel hair and baby’s breath
    Broken hymen of ‘Your Highness’, I’m left black
    Throw down your umbilical noose so I can climb right back”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

